Inner Hebrides

The Inner Hebrides comprise 35 inhabited islands as well as 44 uninhabited islands. The largest islands are, from south to north, Islay, Jura, Mull, Rùm and Skye. The geology of the islands is varied. Some, such as Skye and Mull, are mountainous, whilst others like Tiree are relatively low-lying. What they all have in common is that they are inspirational and beautiful. These islands have been inhabited from early times and there are various important prehistoric structures to explore. The landscapes have inspired a variety of artists; and there is a diversity of wildlife. The Inner Hebrides is an amazing place to observe vibrant bird life that includes the corncrake, red-throated diver, rock dove, kittiwake, tystie, Atlantic puffin, goldeneye, golden eagle and white-tailed sea eagle.